Time to Reflect

Around this time two years ago, I was just finishing exams in my final year at McGill University.  After my last exam, I happily shut off my brain for the two weeks I was home, and admittedly forgot everything I had spent months—okay weeks—studying. It’s easy to compare this experience with my time spent in the Corporate Communications and Public Relations program at Centennial.  For one thing, even though I just finished my second semester, I can safely say I am confident about the direction I’m going in.  It’s easy to lose sight of the end-goal while sitting in classroom, but I think if anything, it’s easier to see where I want to be as a result of this program and its classes.

This is not to say that everything has been easy.  I’ve had to take criticisms in stride, and learn to be more collaborative and efficient when working on group assignments.  Although the program is short, I’m learning something new and practical everyday.  I’ve been able to sharpen my communication skills in PR: Writing to Persuade.  This has been the biggest wakeup call for me.  It’s taught me to understand the importance of writing style in public relations, and learn how to draft news releases, interviews and even feature news articles.  Writing has always been a passion of mine, and as I continue to learn how to develop as a writer, I look forward to building my portfolio and applying these skills in a communicator role.

When I first joined the program, I already knew what I wanted to do.  I have a passion for film and entertainment, and knew I wanted to work in film publicity.  I remember during one of Barry’s first Intro to PR classes, he handed out a sheet of paper with a list of various careers.  I scrolled down the list and recognized TIFF, and had already made up my mind.  I think the biggest influence this semester has been in terms of thinking about my future career, and the industry I want to work in. The guest speakers have played a huge role in this.

We were fortunate enough to listen to several representatives of Toronto public relations agencies.  I wasn’t sure about agency life, but after listening to each presentation, I started to reconsider. Learning about Apex, Fleishman Hillard and Weber Shandwick gave me a deeper understanding of what it’s like to get started in public relations, and how fast-paced and competitive it can be.  I know it’s going to be challenging finding a position, let alone an internship, but can appreciate the value in recognizing the best fit for me as a communicator.  A few months has given me an entirely new perspective on the industry I want to get into, and I can now see myself working in financial communications.  The first semester has allowed me to see the opportunities I have getting started in PR, in terms of being able to work in a variety of fields.  At the same time, I can also see the importance in developing in one area.

Developing a niche in PR is important, and I can appreciate the value in differentiating yourself from the crowd.  Professional Practice has opened my eyes to the importance of establishing yourself as a brand.  I’ve never thought of myself in this way.  Learning how to develop my skills as well distinguish myself has been an important piece of my development in this program.  This has also been the biggest challenge.  It’s hard not to get discouraged when thinking about vying for internships alongside your classmates or students from other schools, but it has allowed me to understand new things about myself—both professionally and personally.  I find myself increasingly open to more things, and new ideas and concepts. The classes in first semester have showed me how to think more critically – and ultimately allow me to be more creative.

Even in the writing of this reflective blog post I can’t help but look at how much I have progressed over the course of one semester.  I never thought of myself as a creative person, but the opportunities to write and communicate in various ways has given me a new perspective on the way I see myself as a communicator and a person.   I look forward to continue my experience at Centennial in the CC&PR program, especially with the opportunity to work on a client project.  I look forward to another engaging semester, and can safely say that my brain will not be “shut off” over the next few weeks.